Maths Camp – Ross River Homestead
Week 6 Term 2 2009
Thanks to Justin Zammit

The proposed timetable of the Maths Enrichment Camp

Friday
  • Arrive and have dinner from 6pm

  • Icebreaker and warm up activities 8:00 to 9:00
To be held in the pool room

  • Bed at 9:00

Saturday
  • Breakfast from 7:30 to 8:00

  • 1st session from 9:00 to 9:45

  • 2nd session from 9:45 to 10:30

  • Recess from 10:30 to 11:00

  • 3rd session from 11:00 to 12:45

  • Lunch from 12:30 to 2:00

  • Afternoon session from 2:00 to 3:30

  • Supervised ‘free time’ activities from 3:30 to 6:00
Collection of different maths activities to be determined at a later meeting
Students pick an activity or activities to do during this time slot

  • Dinner from 6:00 to 8:00

  • Evening session from 8:00 to 9:00
Quiz night and maths games

  • Movie “The Story of One” from 9:00 to 10:00

  • Bed at 10:00

Sunday
  • Breakfast from 7:30

  • 1st activity from 9:30 to 10:30

  • Departure at 11:00

  • Arrive back at Alice Springs around 12:00

Things to organise

  • Costs
Cabins $130 per night
Bunk houses $20 per night $20 x 30 kids = $1,200
Food $1,000
Petrol for buses
Visitor from US and Grad student will also attend
Total is around $4,000
Schools must decide if they will pay for each student out of their own budget or ask parents to contribute
Sponsorship is another option that will be looked into by Yirara staff.
This will include possible media coverage in the local newspaper

  • Catering
Schools will provide own food
The Q’s will be in charge of organising the cooking roster
Regina and Dale will also assist
Arrangements for equipment will be made with Ross River Homestead

  • Contact list (16-03-09- I am currently in the process of updating the list of names below. If you
  • have any corrections--Go for it!!! - Sandra Lote)
Name School Email
Ian Roberts CDU Ian.Roberts@cdu.edu.au
Carmel Hughes Carmel.Hughes@yirara.nt.edu.au
Diana Hutchins Yirara Diana.Hutchins@yirara.nt.edu.au
Sandra Lote Yirara sashi747@hotmail.com
Justin Zammit Yirara justinz36@hotmail.com
Julia Smith Yirara Julia.smith@yirara.nt.edu.au
Rebecca Qualischefski Yirara Rebecca.qualischefski@yirara.net.edu.au
qually62@hotmail.com
Tony Qualischefski Yirara tony.qualischefski@yirara.nt.edu.au
Derek Lammertsma CSSC Derek.lammertsma@ntschools.net or
derekfries@gmail.com
Yvonne Symons ASSOA ysymons@assoa.nt.edu.au
Don Cummins ANZAC don.cummins@ntschools.net
Cameron Neyland OLSH Cameron.neyland@ntschools.net
Jillian Neyland OLSH jill.dutton@ntschools.net
Roger Sellar Centralian Roger.Sellar@ntschools.net
Regina Sellar St John AMBO regina.sellar@stjohnnt.asn.au
Greg Mills ASHS greg.mills@ntschools.net
Ian Shepherd ASHS ian.shepherd@ntschools.net
John Berminham S john.bermingham@ntschools.net
Matt Skoss matt@skoss.org








  • Permission slips
A blanket permission slip will be forward to Ian Roberts and then sent out to each school. Schools will then need to readjust the form according to their own interest/needs. Special dietary requirements will need to be noted

  • Lessons
Teachers will need to submit lesson plans/ideas to Ian Roberts ASAP

  • Transport
2 Centralian College buses – 2 x 22 seaters
Bus licenses: Julia Smith, Ian Roberts, Matt Skoss
Need to check with Centralian College that non-DET employees are OK to drive their bus in terms of insurance. Anyone driving a bus with kids on it must have an NT Drivers' License with LR (or greater) endorsement

  • Attendance
Teachers will submit names of participating students to Ian Roberts

  • Certificates
Jillian has offered to design, print and laminate certificates to hand out to all students during the Maths Quiz on the Saturday night

  • First aid
Regina will be in charge of supplying first aid
Yirara staff will be organising first aid training with Regina on March 28 Any other staff interested in attending needs to contact either Regina or one of the Yirara staff members.

  • Shirts
OLSH will organise a logo/design for t-shirts for students

  • Next meeting**
Our next meeting will be held in Alice Springs in week 3 of term two
Exact date, time and meeting location will be confirmed at a later date